We would like to thank the following individuals and committees from the University of the Witwatersrand: the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Professor Tawana Kupe, the Assistant Dean of the Faculty of Humanities Research Committee, Professor Mark Leon, the Head of the School of Human and Community Development, Professor Maria Marchetti-Mercer, as well as the University of the Witwatersrand’s Research Office, for their generous contributions towards the publication of this book. Prof Norman Duncan is also acknowledged for the significant role he played in ensuring the publication of this book.

We are also greatly indebted to many people, who selflessly agreed to review a chapter, purely as an exercise in academic citizenship and as a contribution to a high standard of academic knowledge. We have listed their names below:

Dr Daleen Alexander (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Zaytoon Amod (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Maurice Aronstam (University of Pretoria)

Dr Katherine Bain (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Ronel Blom (Umalusi)

Dr Olaniyi Bojuwoye (University of the Western Cape)

Dr Marita Brink (Private Practitioner)

Dr Michelle Buchler (Centre for Education Policy Development)

Dr Nicolaas Claassen (Private Practitioner)

Mr Patrick Connolly (Private Practitioner)

Dr Maria Damianova (Monash, South Africa)

Prof Marie de Beer (University of South Africa)

Dr Karina de Bruin (University of Johannesburg)

Ms Fiona Donald (University of the Witwatersrand)

Ms Renate Gericke (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Charmaine Gordon (Private Practitioner)

Ms Tanya Graham (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Kirston Greenop (Mindset South Africa)

Ms Celeste Joyce (Private Practitioner)

Dr Salome Human Vogel (University of Pretoria)

Mr Jan Knoetze (Rhodes University)

Prof Hennie Kriek (University of South Africa)

Dr Stacey Leibowitz- Levy (Private Practitioner)

Prof Marilyn Lucas (University of the Witwatersrand)

Ms Susan Malcolm-Smith (University of Cape Town)

Dr Macalini Malindi (North West University)

Prof David Maree (University of Pretoria)

Prof Karen Milner (University of the Witwatersrand)

Prof Mokgadi Moletsane (University of the Western Cape)

Ms Sharon Moonsamy (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Reagan Murphy (Cork University, Ireland)

Prof Drienie Naude (North-West University)

Ms Ruby Patel (Rhodes University)

Mr Jarrod Payne (Millward Brown)

Dr Esther Price (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Cas Prinsloo (Human Sciences Research Council)

Mr Gregg Quy (TNS Research surveys)

Ms Ilse Ruane (University of Pretoria)

Ms Alida Sandison (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)

Mr Ian Siemers (University of the Witwatersrand)

Ms Enid Schutte (University of the Witwatersrand)

Mr Joseph Seabi (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Lee Senior (Private Practitioner)

Dr Vanessa Scherman (University of Pretoria)

Prof Marius Stander (University of Pretoria)

Dr Inette Taylor (Private Practitioner)

Dr Nicola Taylor (University of Johannesburg / Jopie van Rooyen & Partners)

Mr Tesfay Teferi (University of Eritrea)

Prof Linda Theron (North West University)

Prof Andrew Thatcher (University of the Witwatersrand)

Dr Nanette Tredoux (Psytech South Africa)

Prof Oliver Turnbull (University of Bangor, Wales)

Dr Rene van Eeden (University of South Africa)

Dr Clifford van Ommen (Massey University, New Zealand)

Ms Liesl Vogt (Private Practitioner)

Dr Jacki Watts (Private Practitioner)

Dr H Williams (North-West University)